The time has come…I’m headed to Fres-YES!

The past six months have been a whirlwind. When I was crowned as Miss Santa Clara 2015 I knew I was in for a ride. Along with volunteering in my community, promoting my platform, going to school full-time and working full-time, I have been preparing to compete for the title of Miss California 2015. I can’t believe the time is finally here. Tomorrow I will be headed to Fresno!

This will be my fourth pageant week experience on the Miss California stage. The stage where smiles prevail, tears of joy are shed, questions are answered flawlessly and where lives are changed. My life sure was.

My first “Miss California week” encounter was in 2010 when I represented Santa Clara for the first time as Miss Santa Clara’s Outstanding Teen. Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 1.46.56 PMAs a fifteen year-old and new to the Miss America program I was eager and excited to have an unforgettable week. My committee set me up for success and I was ready for the week ahead. However, I had never been to Miss California before so I was not sure exactly what to expect. At the end of the week I found myself with two preliminary awards, two overall awards and was 2nd runner-up to Miss California’s Outstanding Teen 2010. I was overjoyed and proud of myself and left my first Miss California week with a vibrant smile on my face.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 1.43.07 PMMy second week on the stage in the Saroyan theater was one year later when I was Miss Mission City’s Outstanding Teen 2011. I knew I was 110% ready to show the judges that I could successfully represent our state with the job as Miss California’s Outstanding Teen. After a long but fulfilling week my life was changed. I was ecstatic to be crowned Miss California’s Outstanding Teen 2011!
After another year had passed and an endless amount of memories as Miss California’s Outstanding teen were made, I was back in Fresno for Miss California week for the third year in a row. This time it was not to compete, but to crown my successor. Being on the Miss California stage and not competing is a completely different feeling. Watching the young ladies who were in the place I was in just a year prior, felt like I was watching a movie. I was sad that my year was ending but thrilled for the young lady that I was going to crown as MCAOT 2012. I could not have been more happy to pass on the duties of MCAOT to my friend and the well deserved Grace Lee Grant.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 1.40.12 PM

Fast forward three years and I am heading back to Fresno!

With a few years of growth, experiences and new wisdom under my belt I am ready to head back to the Saroyan theater to compete for my first time as a “Miss” contestant!

During my preparation, there have been highs, lows, successes, doubts, excitement and nerves, but I feel more than prepared to show the judges that I have the ability to represent our state again, this time as Miss California 2015. My friends, family, committee and sponsors have been with me every step of the way and I cannot thank them enough! 

Pageant week is not only about the competition. It is about enjoying the time in Fresno with some of the most incredible young women in California. I cannot express how privileged I feel to be spending the week with 52 of the most intelligent, beautiful, talented and poised women in the state.

After months of endless hard work, we all come together to make memories, have some good laughs, but most of all, to be there for each other. Only WE can truly understand what this week means to one another.

We are all dreamers. We are all strong. We are all eager. We are all determined. We are all different. But most importantly, every single woman who puts her foot on that stage would be an incredible Miss California.

co 15

I know whoever is crowned Miss California 2015 on June 27th probably around 9 or 10 PM in the Saroyan theater, will be a young lady that we will all be proud of. No matter who it is, our state will be in the best hands.

Regardless of the outcome on June 27th, I know I have done everything in my power to prepare. I will show the judges who I am and then it is in their hands 😉

2 thoughts on “The time has come…I’m headed to Fres-YES!

  1. Stephanie Quintal says:

    I feel so blessed to have watched you grow from the 15 year old who entered my teen pageant and did here “cheer routine” with 1 back flip into the amazing young woman you are today! You are going to rock in in Fres-yes and not matter what happens I know you will be true to yourself, and the best Jessa we have ever seen 🙂

    Much! Love you!
    Steph

    Like

Leave a Reply

