Every Kid Healthy Week

IMG_9570IMG_9515IMG_9592IMG_9629

This week is a very significant week in support of childhood health and fitness. Every Kid Healthy Week is a special week to recognize and highlight the importance of healthy living for the youth across the globe. This week is especially meaningful to me, because my personal platform, Building A Healthy Future, focusses on instilling a healthy lifestyle in our youth. Throughout the week, I was able to visit with over 100 children in the community to promote this important initiative.

IMG_9528

To kick off the week of fun, I instructed a TRX for Kids! class at Morning Crane Healing Arts & Fitness Center. IMG_9506Combining my love for the TRX with my passion for youth health, this class is my activity of choice. The participants had endless energy, were interested to learn new exercises and all are super strong!

On Monday before I headed to class and work, I visited with the students at Bright Horizons Child Care & Early Education.

IMG_9559I read a fitness story from my collection and talked about healthy habits. The most rewarding part of the visit was hearing the kiddos favorite healthy foods and exercises. The class favorite healthy food is berries!

My Tuesday morning was spent with my new friends in Scott Lane’s Transitional Kinder class. IMG_9576We did some morning stretches, read an entertaining and educational book Good For Me and You and shared our favorite healthy foods and exercises. I was thrilled to hear that one of their vocabulary words this week is- healthy! The class even has their own “healthy dance and sing along” which they performed for me. It is incredible to see that teachers are emphasizing healthy living in their classrooms.

On day four of Every Kid Healthy Week,IMG_9620 I had the opportunity to visit with Girls Scouts from various Santa Clara Troops with Miss Santa Clara’s Outstanding Teen and Miss Silicon Valley’s Outstanding Teen. Along with speaking about the Miss America Organization and making Thank You cards for our Marines, FullSizeRenderI led the Troops to take the Every Kid Healthy Week pledge. In return for taking the pledge, I gave each Girl Scout a fruit patch to add to their vest. If you believe in ending childhood obesity, please take the pledge here.

Thursday came quickly and I was off to Bowers Elementary School to spend time with the school’s State and District Preschool classrooms! IMG_9646The classes enjoyed reading about ways to be active and learning the benefits of eating well. Of the two books I read, the majority favorite was Why Should I Eat Well? IMG_9662The enthusiastic students were eager to tell me their favorite outdoor activity. By the end of the class lesson, the children assured me that they will be healthy so they can grow up to be princesses, veterinarians, doctors and even Captain America! The children were super excited about their healthy snacks they got in their goodie bags I brought them.

IMG_9681On Friday, I wrapped up my week of classroom visits at my elementary school alma mater, Briarwood Elementary, at their State preschool classroom. The morning called for some morning exercises and stretches. The preschoolers were anxious to go home and show their new morning routine with their families. I gave each of them a smiley sticker and they knew exactly why… when you’re healthy, you’re happy!

IMG_9705

Overall, I had a VERY successful week! Engaging our youth in healthy living and educating them of the benefits is something I really enjoy to do and is something I truly care about. I hope to one day cross paths later in life with the children I’ve met, to see how accomplished and successful they’ve become. The youth, our next generation, is our future and I know that our society will be in good hands 🙂

Leave a Reply

