Can’t wait for June! Recap of Miss California Orientation 2015

marinaFullSizeRenderIMG_9253

Rehearsals, workshops, paperwork, sisters and more at the 2015 Miss California orientation! I had such a special weekend meeting all 52 other contestants who will be competing for the title of Miss California this June.

The weekend began on Friday night as my sister titleholders Miss Silicon Valley, Miss Santa Clara’s Outstanding Teen, Miss Silicon Valley’s Outstanding Teen and I bonded while crafting tiaras for the UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland. IMG_9206I am so excited to pass out the tiaras to the children of the Children’s Hospital Oakland next Saturday on the inaugural Miss America Serves day! Be sure to check out the hashtag #MissAmericaServes this week and on the big day, April 18, to check out what Miss America titleholders are up to during their day of service.

Saturday was a jam packed and productive day. My first order of business was the social media workshop led by social media gurus Jill Cook and Leah Cecil Tibbitts. IMG_9220Leah who is actually Miss California 2014 made the recording so fun! The videos are a perfect way to get a glimpse of each contestants personality. I can’t wait to see the final product. The videos will be up on misscalifornia.org next month! My social media recording was followed by an audio recording session where I had the chance to record my talent introduction that will be played on the final night of the Miss California competition if I am selected as a top 12 contestant.

IMG_9235Right before lunch, a few contestants and I learned how to walk with poise, presence and even attitude while on stage. I always enjoy working on my on-stage movement. It makes me feel like a model during my time on stage.

The second half of my afternoon I went through talent preview and had a mock interview.

IMG_9268It is really amazing that the Miss California organization makes it a point to hold these workshops and appointments. I feel more prepared and even more eager for the state competition!

The third wardrobe change of the day was for the cocktail dinner.

IMG_9249

This is one of my favorite parts of orientation. As the day comes to an end, it is nice to have the chance to dress up and enjoy food, a raffle, conversation and laughs with friends 🙂

With my teen, Caroline!

With my teen, Caroline!

Ohhhh but my day was not over yet! After dinner was of course… rehearsal time! Rehearsals make the thought of competing in Miss California feel so REAL.

Sunday morning began with more rehearsal time with our extraordinary choreographer Cassie and Miss California 2009 Kristy Cavinder Fronteira. There is a ton of choreography to memorize, but I know by the time Miss California competition week comes along, the production is going to be prefect. Productions numbers are one of my favorite parts of the show.

Before it was time to head home, the contestants had the time to sit down and hear some wise words from the current Miss California, Marina Inserra and the president and CEO of the Miss California Organization, Bob Arnhym. Every time I have the opportunity to hear Marina and Bob speak, I am left with a new sense of encouragement, confidence and support.

The ladies of Donna Jones' field - Donna's Divas!

The ladies of Donna Jones’ field – Donna’s Divas!

Thank you so much to the Miss California Organization and all of the remarkable volunteers who made this weekend possible. I know that each and every person in attendance had a fabulous weekend are are eager to come back to Fresno in June! Counting down the days 🙂 67 more to go!!

Leave a Reply

